poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Brunch at Limon

Leave a comment

Greetings from Taipei! I’m hoping to use the next 10 days to catch up on my poor, neglected blog.

Limon is one of the San Francisco restaurants that I’ve had on my list for a long, long time. Mostly because by the time I got around to actually arranging a trip, it closed for renovations. Luckily, it re-opened recently and as luck would have it, they were featured on Groupon. So, MS, KH, and I headed into the Mission for my first taste of Peruvian cuisine.

That glass of mango lemonade is taller than his head!

It was brunch, so I opted for the mango mimosa, while MS got the mango lemonade. The three of us ordered a bunch of things to share. Limon is known for their ceviches, so we ordered the Ceviche Nikkei de Atun (tuna ceviche), “Sushi grade ahi tuna with mushrooms and sesame seeds in soy sauce-infused leche de tigre.”

Raw fish drenched in deliciousness.

On the seafood theme, we also got steamed Prince Edward Island mussels with bacon, spicy pimento sauce, onions with a side of chimichurri french fries. I didn’t really taste the pimento sauce, but the bacon was a nice touch. (As if you’re surprised to hear that I like bacon.) We couldn’t figure out what a chimichurri french fry was, so I looked it up. It’s a green sauce, and you can read all about it here. Pretty tasty stuff!

Mussels + bacon = yummy. Too bad the fries got a little soggy.

The most disappointing dish was the Antichucho de Pollo, aka chicken skewers with sweet potato fries and aji amarillo-huacatay sauce. The fries and sauce were very good (notice a theme here?), but the chicken skewers were dry and unimpressive. This only reinforces my belief that the chicken is the token “safe” dish at restaurants — the one that unadventurous diners choose, and therefore, the one that chef doesn’t take the time to make very exciting.

Chicken skewers and sweet potato fries. Looks better than it tasted.

I was very surprised to find that my favorite dish was the vegetarian empanada, which was crispy puffed pastry stuffed with mushrooms, choclo, spinach, english peas & served with rocoto sauce. The pastry was flaky, moist, and delicious, and the combination of mushrooms, peas, and sauce was mouthwatering.

Empanadas stuffed with goodness.

We ended on a sweet note with profiteroles: cream puffs filled with pastry cream over Lucuma anglaise, caramel sauce & chopped pecans. These were amazing as well, which leads me to believe that they have a very good pastry chef.

You say cream puff, I say profiterole. Either way, it's damn good.

Author: Jen

Howdy! I'm a 30-something recovering former academic living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 237 other followers