poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Tea Time!

5 Comments

When I was in Taipei, my sister PY took us to Smith & Hsu, a hip tea place with modern, Scandinavian decor. It was SO hip, in fact, that I wasn’t allowed to take any photos of the shelves or displays, lest I steal their interior design elements. Actually, the servers were quite nice about it, apologizing to me as they told me not to take pictures of their cake display because it’s proprietary information. *sigh*

Cheers!

Anyway, it turned out to be a quite relaxing and delicious lunch. We opted to share the afternoon tea, even though it was barely noon, which included two pots of tea (unlimited refill) and a 3-tiered stand of mini-sandwiches, cakes, and scones. After smelling the tray of 45+ teas, JS and I chose an Earl Grey variety and a Chinese tea (was it Jasmine? or Pu Er? I can’t recall). Both were delicious.

Selecting the tea was hard work!

The sandwiches were a nice departure from all of the Chinese food I had been devouring for a week and the cakes (Tiramisu and chocolate raspberry) were scrumptious. But the best part? The scones. I never thought that I’d taste some of the best scones EVER in Taipei, of all places, but these were buttery, warm, and awesome. They came with the best clotted cream and jams — lemon curd (*YUM*) and blueberry.

Our savory and sweet treats

… the other side

Author: Jen

Howdy! I'm a 30-something recovering former academic living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

5 thoughts on “Tea Time!

  1. The final caption’s broked, though I can’t see anything wrong with it. Maybe “caption” isn’t the key word for text under the image?

    Feel free to delete my technojargon as convenient.

  2. What’s the black jello/pudding looking stuff on the second tier of the sweets tea caddy?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers