poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Euro-post V: I heart beer (and wine)

Leave a comment

Those of you who know me well know that I like to make statements such as:

That pork bun was as big as my head!
or
That beer is as big as my face!

For some reason, I am obsessed about food and drink that is ginormous in size or quantity.  And, luckily for me, there was plenty of that in Switzerland and Germany.  I loved the half-liter steins of beer.  So much so that there were copious photos of me with my main European lover: the pilsner.

But before I get to that, I must start off with DR’s famous Manhattan.  A Manhattan is bourbon, sweet vermouth, bitters, and a maraschino cherry.  These ingredients must be mixed perfectly to obtain a heavenly balance of spicy, sweet, and bitter.  Before DR introduced me to the Manhattan, I was not a fan of bourbon or whiskey.  I think that fact alone should attest to how good it is.

DR's famous Manhattan with snacks (how sophisticated)

DR's famous Manhattan in Paris, with snacks.

Our first meal in Switzerland was rosti, accompanied of course by beer.  Here’s a photo of a very happy me after a long train ride from Paris.

Cheers!

Cheers!

My German friend IP introduced me to the idea of drinking beer after a long hike or bike ride.  In fact, her favorite drink is a “radler” or cyclist — beer with lemon soda. In England, I think they call it a shandy.  Anyway, I think they’re on to something because a cold refreshing beer was indeed the perfect end to a great hike in the Alps.  We did the same in Vevey after a long bike ride from Lausanne (which I don’t have a photo of unfortunately).  Anyway, here I am enjoying the mountain air and delicious beer:

When we got to the base of the mountain, DR and I decided we couldn’t leave the beautiful mountain view just yet, so we stayed for another drink.  This time, I opted for white wine.  I have to interject here and say that white wine in Switzerland is the way to go.  I had red wine on a few occasions and I can’t speak too highly of it.

Enjoying one of the nicest days, one sip at a time...

Enjoying one of the nicest days, one sip at a time...

On one of the rainy days in Bern, we hopped into this cozy neighborhood bar and had a couple smaller (quarter-liter) beers.  I thought this beer was funny because I kept thinking the name was “Canada” but it was actually “Calanda.”

Doing my best Vanna White impression, showcasing the beer.

Doing my best Vanna White impression, showcasing the beer.

After Switzerland, I went to Germany.  The conference I attended was in Leiwen, a small town in the Mosel Valley which is famous for white wines like Riesling.  It was a very beautiful region, which I can’t show you pictures of because my camera battery was dead, but just imagine rows and rows of grapevines terraced on picturesque rolling hills, with a pretty blue river cutting across it.

For my last meal in Germany, my friend IP took me to the local Ratskellar (town hall) in her hometown of Darmstadt in the Hesse region.  I decided to “Go German” and get bratwurst and a pretzel, and wash it down with some sparkling applewine which is famous in Hesse.  It was light and refreshing, sort of like sparkling apple juice with a tinge of alcohol.

Did you know most Germans remove the skin of the bratwurst before eating it?

Did you know most Germans remove the skin of the bratwurst before eating it? The mustard was actually the most delicious part of this meal. Sweet and tangy.

Yes, I am looking rather tired in this photo, but I am also really excited about applewine!

Yes, I am looking rather tired in this photo, but I am also really excited about applewine!

So, this is my last Euro-post.  I’m happy I was able to milk my trip for 5 posts!  I hope you’ve enjoyed this series as much as I enjoyed eating and drinking my way across Paris, Switzerland, and Germany.  Cheers!

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

