poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Carving Pumpkins

Leave a comment

On Saturday, my friend SY hosted a pumpkin carving party at her house.  Since I had worked all day, I didn’t really feel like carving a big ol’ pumpkin.  However, CC brought two small ones and was nice enough to let me carve one.  I decided to make an angry jack-o’lantern, but some thought it looked sad or exasperated.  What do you think?  (Pardon the quality of the photos; they’re from my camera phone.)

"GRRRR!"

"GRRRR!!"

Unbeknownst to me, there was contest.  My pumpkin came in at a distant third (yay me!), and there was a tie for first place.  I voted for this one because it was really cool, and also because I intend to vote for this guy on Tuesday:

The Barack-o-lantern

The Barack-o-lantern

SY also made a chocolate cake with marshmallow ghosts.  Her friend decided to make the ghosts less gender-neutral.

Gonad-enhanced goblins

Gonad-enhanced goblins

Happy Halloween!

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

