poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Turkey Porridge

Leave a comment

Apologies for being a delinquent blogger this week.  I guess with all of the posts last week, I was a little blogged out.  But now I’m back!

Last year, I took Thanksgiving turkey carcass and cooked a delicious turkey porridge.  Like how the Inuits have multiple words for snow, Chinese people have many words for porridge… though the only ones I’m aware of are congee and jook.  Basically, it is short grain rice that cooks for an extended period of time in stock, until the starch of the rice melts into the stock creating an oatmeal-like consistency.  I consider it the Chinese equivalent of risotto.

The version I made last week was made from turkey stock and based on a recipe from The Gourmet Cookbook (thanks to LF for the turkey carcass).  It’s very simple: turkey stock, cooking wine, ginger, scallions, salt, turkey, and rice.  In many Chinese homes, rice porridge is a breakfast dish that is made with water and not stock, and accompanied by pickles, tofu, dried pork, and eggs.  The turkey porridge I made is more of a main dish to serve as lunch or dinner.  As a side dish, I stir-fried romaine lettuce with garlic to add some greens, but otherwise, the porridge is hearty and filling.  This year, I added shittake mushrooms to add more texture and flavor to the porridge.  It was marvelous.

Turkey porridge with shittake mushrooms

Turkey porridge with shittake mushrooms

So, this next photo is of the same bowl of porridge as above, but before I did some “food styling.”  Note how boring it looks without my rearrangement of the mushrooms.

sad, unstyled porridge

sad, unstyled porridge

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

