poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Chicken soup, part deux

Leave a comment

I’m a big fan of chicken soup.  Previously, I blogged about chicken soup with wild rice, a tried-and-true, American-style recipe featuring carrots and celery.  Last week, it was cold and rainy, which to me always signifies soup weather.  Because I was too lazy to try a new recipe, I fell back on one of my standard soups: Chinese chicken and corn soup.  It’s so easy because I don’t follow a recipe for it; it’s all in my head.

The ingredients: shredded chicken, chicken stock, corn (canned), eggs, ginger, scallions, Chinese cooking wine, salt, pepper, and corn starch (to thicken).  (Some recipes call for diced ham, if you don’t feel that the shredded chicken is meaty enough.  It also adds some color to the soup.)  When it was done, I added a cup of cooked rice to the soup to make it into a meal.  This isn’t porridge, since I didn’t cook the rice in the soup at all.

Because I don’t follow a recipe, the soup comes out slightly different every time.  For instance, I never remember if I should use creamed corn or regular corn.  This time, I used one can of each, which turned out perfectly, as the creamed corn added that corn base flavor, while the regular corn contributed texture.  The soup came out great, but I ended up with a huge pot of it.  Luckily, it is one of my favorites so I didn’t tire of it.

From the pot...

From the pot...

... to the bowl.  Bon appetite!

... to the bowl. Bon appetite!

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

