poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Baking vs. cooking

Leave a comment

I have a theory that people are either bakers or cooks.  Myself, I’m definitely a cook.  I don’t like to follow recipes to a tee, and am in general, fairly imprecise.  Which is funny/ironic, considering that I’m a scientist, and you’d think I’d be able to follow precise protocols by now.  I also blame my old school oven on my unsuccessful attempts at baking in the past few years.  Yes, of course I know how to bake a cake from a box, but I’m talking about REAL baking.  Once, I attempted Katherine Hepburn’s brownie recipe from the Gourmet cookbook.  Everything was looking divine until I checked on the pan 15 minutes later and realized that the oven shelf was tilted.  So, I ended up with some brownies over-done and the other half under-done.  (But, this turns out to be perfect for a potluck as it accomodates everyone’s preferences, FYI.  You can thank me later.)

So, back to my theory:  everyone’s a baker or a cook.  I like to cook because I enjoy keeping an eye on the food and adjusting things as they go, whether it’s to turn down the temperature or to season the dish just so.  Maybe it’s because I’ve never tried baking one recipe more than a couple of times, so I’ve never gotten familiar, but I just don’t have the patience for it.  As a result, I bake once a year, and it usually turns out OK but a little burnt like so:

Pumpkin pecan pie (Thanksgiving, 2008)

Pumpkin pecan pie (Thanksgiving, 2008)

What about you?  Are you a cook or a baker?  Take the first ever “will blog 4 food” poll below.  Yay interactive blog!

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

