poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Summer Salad

Leave a comment

Greetings from Taipei! I’ve gotten over my jet lag and now I’m ready to blog away. Hopefully I won’t slip into gibberish or Chinglish (Chinese-English hybrid).

We were experiencing quite a heat wave last month in Berkeley, very unusual for August. The last thing I want to do when it’s hot outside is to stand over a flame and cook, so I decided to make a salad. I was inspired by a friend’s tip that the Berkeley Bowl was having a special deal on heirloom tomatoes — only $2.39/lb! The other ingredients included romaine lettuce (only 39 cents/head), avocado, heirloom tomatoes, hard boiled egg, and carrots, all organic and all California-grown.

Refreshing and colorful summer salad.

Refreshing and colorful summer salad.

After my failed avocado purchase recently, I was determined to succeed the second time around and I’m happy to report that I did. I also made my own vinaigrette, which I always do because it is SO easy. I make it up each time, but the basic recipe is to mix together balsamic vinegar, dijon mustard, salt, pepper, and lemon juice (optional). Then, while whisking, slowly add extra virgin olive oil. Adjust to taste.

Even though this salad was really good, not to mention huge, I still needed some carbs to round out my meal. So I made a meat-free version of my simple pasta recipe, topping it with my new obsession: ricotta salata. So good!

Linguini with carrots and salata ricotta.

Linguini with carrots, onions, and salata ricotta.

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

