poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Pho Off!

2 Comments

Since moving to the Bay Area, my favorite pho place has been Pho Saigon II at the Pacific East Mall in El Cerrito/Richmond. In fact, the pho there is so good that it almost always deterred me from going to the very tempting VH Noodle House just next door. The broth is flavorful but not greasy, the noodles have great chewy texture, and the meat appears to be of good quality.

The combination pho at Pho Saigon II.

The combination pho at Pho Saigon II, medium bowl.*

Recently, SB took me to her favorite pho place, Yummy Yummy in the Inner Sunset District, which she’s been raving about for years. Once the bowl came, I instantly knew why SB loves it so much: the serving size was HUGE! I enjoyed the flavor but I felt extremely overwhelmed by the quantity of noodles. For once, I actually experienced noodle overload, which made me sad. So, I think the winner for me, especially considering location/proximity, is Pho Saigon II.

Combination pho at Yummy Yummy, large bowl.*

Combination pho at Yummy Yummy, large bowl.

Barbeque beef for the DIY rolls that SB and JB ordered.

Barbeque beef for the DIY rolls that SB and JB ordered at Yummy Yummy.

*First photo from my new camera! Look for a new page dedicated for photography soon!!

Author: Jen

Howdy! I'm a 30-something recovering former academic living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

2 thoughts on “Pho Off!

  1. Awesome! I’ve never been to either of these Pho places, even though one is right by my house (Pho Saigon II) and the other is in my BF’s ‘hood. Definitely will be partaking in some Pho Saigon II soon!

  2. I love pho!

    Check out OneVietnam’s article on pho: http://talk.onevietnam.org/pho/

    OneVietnam has a blog written by young Vietnamese professionals.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers