poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Eat Real!

7 Comments

Tons of people came out to enjoy the sunshine and great food at the Eat Real Festival.

Tons of people came out to enjoy the sunshine and great food at the Eat Real Festival.

One of my favorite things about the Bay Area is the abundance of street festivals during the summer. On a gorgeous Sunday in late August, I went to the Eat Real Festival in Jack London Square in Oakland.  As their website states:

About Eat Real Festival:
Founded in 2008, Eat Real Festival is a social venture created to inspire eaters to choose tasty, healthy, good food. Through a vibrant, local festival in Oakland, CA, and a focus on delicious and sustainable “street food,” Eat Real puts eaters in contact with the real people — the farmers, chefs, and producers — who make our food.

That’s all great, but the main attraction for me was the street food. Unfortunately, I was feeling really impatient so I went for the shorter lines and only tried two things. The first was the gambas al ajillo, a.k.a. grilled shrimp with garlic sauce. Yummy! My friends got grilled figs with goat cheese. They said it was delicious; I took their word for it. (I hate goat cheese. Blech!)

Shrimp in garlic sauce -- two of my favorite things.

Shrimp & garlic sauce -- two of my favorite things.

Figs and goat cheese. Looks good.

Figs and goat cheese. Looks good, except for the goat cheese.

The other thing I tried was a brisket sandwich, which was just so-so. Apparently, they had just sold out of the pulled pork sandwiches. Drats!

Brisket sandwich. Better with extra bbq sauce.

Brisket sandwich. Better with extra bbq sauce.

In addition to the food vendors, there were also a ton microbrews to taste. For about $20, you got a souvenir drinking jar plus 4 tastings, which seemed like a good deal. However, we were on a tight schedule so we ducked into Heinold’s First and Last Chance for just one beer. This place was amazing and obviously very historic (read: OLD). The website says that the shack dates back to 1883 and the wood came from a whaling boat. Next time I go back to Jack London Square, I’m definitely visiting Heinold’s.

Aren't they darling?

Aren't they darling?

Ducking into Heinolds, literally. Check out all of the hats!

Ducking into Heinolds, literally. Check out all of the hats!

The ceiling at Heinolds. I have a sneaking suspicion that there was a fire at some point.

The ceiling at Heinolds. I have a sneaking suspicion that there was a fire at some point.

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

7 thoughts on “Eat Real!

  1. I hella heart Oakland!

  2. I’m with you on the goat cheese thing. It’s just so….goat-y.

  3. it must be fabulous to live there!!

  4. I miss Oaktown…:( by the way- don’t EVER order anything but beer or VERY basic drinks (read:shots) from Heinolds- they don’t like it- long story…xoxR

  5. Don’t know how you hate goat cheese. It’s my top 20 favorite foods. But I appreciate your attempts to try it over and over 😉

Leave a Reply

