poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Mochi Noodle Soup

Leave a comment

After a long morning of traveling and drooling at all of the food at Nishiki Market, I finally decided to have lunch. It was a tough decision but given my love of mochi, I decided to eat at a restaurant specializing in mochi. Not only did they serve the traditional sweet mochi treats, they also had savory mochi, including grilled mochi and even cheese mochi!

Mochi display outside of the restaurant - so many varieties! For example, the lower left tray has grilled mochi (left to right): cheese, peanut butter, (unknown), plum, (unknown -- shiso leaf?).

Since I was really hungry, I thought I could handle a mochi noodle soup AND mochi dessert. Sadly, this was not meant to be. Because mochi is made from sticky glutinous rice, it expanded so much in my stomach that I couldn’t possibly fathom the thought of eating another mochi after my main course. The noodle soup I had was good though! It was essentially udon (thick flour noodle) with 2 large pieces of grilled mochi, scallions, and tempura flakes. Very filling and economical! (I think it was about $7.)

Grilled mochi noodle soup. Chewy and delicious!

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

