poor scientist. will blog 4 food.

the culinary adventures of a self-described foodie

Junkie Noodle (with video!)

Leave a comment

This post's namesake. One of the stalls in a Sogo Dept Store Food Court.

Sincere apologies for the delay between posts! Just when I thought I was all caught up, a whole month flies by and there are still tons of photos to post from my trip to Taiwan in November.

First up: the cornucopia of awesome noodles I inhaled ate. As most of you already know, I love me some noodles. Morning, noon, night… it’s always time for noodles! My love of noodles probably comes from the fact that there are so many different kinds of delicious varieties that are found in Taiwan. Without further ado, here are the noodles (and dear Taiwanese-American readers — please correct my Romanization!).

There were a lot of great noodle carts and small shops near my parents’ house. Among them:

"Pork petal" noodle soup -- pork that is covered with fish paste. Sort of like a pork/fish meatball. Served with bamboo shoots, mushrooms, egg, and green onion.

Fried noodles with mushrooms, carrots, Napa cabbage, and pork. Yummy.

Thin rice noodles with pig intestines. Sounds disgusting but usually quite good (this bowl wasn't so great though).

During our family trip to Yilan, we also stopped in at a crowded noodle shop:

Wonton noodle soup. A mere $1.30!

I had fun with my zha jiang mien (noodles with soy paste).

And of course, noodles could also be found in any food court in Taipei:

My nephew T, already the noodle-holic at 4 years old. We start them young.

Also found at a food court, a motorized bowl of ramen! I don’t know if you can tell, but I’m really, REALLY excited about this thing. (Thanks to my sister PL for the video.)

Author: Jen

Howdy! My name is Jen and I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. I like to eat, run, and blog, but not usually at the same time.

Leave a Reply

